The Write Setting

Hello everyone!  Another day off and I’m feeling fantastic and ready to go back to work.  I hope things are going well for you and thank you for those that keep up with this.  I really appreciate the support as I walk down this path.  Just to let you know, I don’t really aim to become a professional unless something happens to cause that.  I just enjoy writing and what is the point of writing if you don’t share it? 🙂

Today, I’m going to a bit of self revealing and some talking about where I write.  The setting or mood for when you are writing can be very important to your creative juices.  Most of the time, I’m able to clear my mind enough to just write away but there are times that this isn’t possible.  To clear my mind, I listen to a Pandora.com station that I’ve put together “Imagination Station“.  I’ll sit at my desk and just close my eyes, letting my mind drift with the music.  It’s instrumental music and I find that it really helps me tap into the creative parts of my mind.  An example, is the song by Gandalf called “Blossoms Falling Like Snow” that when I heard it for the first time, I saw a specific grove go through the seasons.  Nothing special about it.  Just a little meadow with a spring.  It was very vivid in my mind and a beautiful, relaxing scene that helped me to shape a poem.

I’ll link you to the song, just to let you hear it.

Now, another place I find myself writing is at the Sports Arena/bar my boyfriend works at.  There are times that I have to meet him up there before he gets off work and we go home together.  However, being in the bar puts me in a fantastic position to people watch.  To keep a close ear and eye on the people around me so that I can humanize my characters.  Make them seem more real.  When I lived in another state, I would hang out at a little coffee shop and just watch people as I wrote.  In the end, no answer is a wrong answer.  You write where ever you can find the time and you feel your mind is ripe for the occasion. I’ve written things while at work.  It’s all a matter of circumstance because you’ll never know when your muse will whisper in your ear.

Speaking of a muse, that directly relates to the same mythology that this blog is named after.  It’s time for you to learn a little bit about why I call myself the Siren.  Specifically, the Emerald Siren.  My family seems to have a bit of a curse.  Once someone falls for any member of my family, they are struck and struck hard that it is almost impossible to rid yourself of them.  The cling to you and search you out in many ways.  There are those that I would say are affected by this ‘curse’ that I don’t mind.  However, there are those that I do mind and drive be insane.

Now, if you know anything about Siren’s, you know that it’s only half of the picture.  Siren’s are a mythological creature that sings and lures sailors to the rocky shores, to their death in the sea.  Something that isn’t known to most of you, I love to listen to music, yes but I also love to sing and I’m fairly good at it.  Not like American Idol good, but decent enough.  And my favorite color is green… so there you go.  Emerald Siren.  I sing to lure people in and break their hearts unintentionally against the rocky shores of reality.  I hate hurting people but I do it all the time because of that. 😦

Anywho, this relates to a couple of poems I’ve done.  One was written after I ended up hurting someone because of the way things were and the second was written after my divorce, last year.

The Siren’s Hymn

And now she sings the Siren’s Hymn

No longer is her heart within

The fatal chords which she emits

Shall cause other’s hearts to up and quit

Though not intended, her soul bleeds

For every Sailor she sends to the seas

Written by © Rebekah “Khalei Vi” Bryson May 20, 2011

The Siren’s Hymn: The Pile

And now she sings the Siren’s Hymn

Such fatal chords flow from within

Almost seven years he dwelt with her

Sharing her hopes and her dreams

The curse she bares evolves one day and changed the Siren’s song

His footprints led to the sea

His ship no longer docked

Her coast an aria, echoed graveyard of every sailors heart

Another added to the pile ever doomed to grow.

Written by © Rebekah “Khalei Vi” Bryson April 20, 2012

Both free verse, and both have a very deep meaning for me…

About Rebekah "Khalei Vi" Bryson

Just a woman, living life as she needs to.
This entry was posted in Life, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment