In Sickness and in Health

Life… it happens and has been happening.  I wanted to apologize to all of you out there with my neglect regarding this blog the past few days.  I have been fairly ill and have been resting and working.  Just how things are.  I can’t afford to not work or I would while I got better.  Though, with what is happening recently, I doubt that taking days off would help too much.

However, I have been through similar issues before and I know that I can get through this.  Life has a way of throwing those curve balls that hit you in ways you’ll never expect.  And it’s how we deal with these in our lives that make us into the person we are.  The trials of life are just that.  Trials.  They aren’t impossible.  We can persevere through and be stronger for it.  I decided a long time ago that I would not let my body win.  It’s a constant struggle but I try every day to focus on living.  On having a life.  I had my dreams taken away from me once and I won’t let it happen again.  I’m better than this.

I have progressed so much in the past few years that the life I used to live, even a year ago, is a stranger to me.  Those that knew me don’t even know me now.  I have changed so much that I’m barely recognizable as a person.  And these are all -good- things.  These are changes I make WILLINGLY.  I am becoming the person I want to be, slowly but surely.  It’s not easy.  This I can tell you.  However, it is worth it.  I look back on how my life has changed and I weep for the hearts I have broken, the lives affected by my decisions and I’m sorry if it has caused you any heart ache or worry.  I’m not on drugs.  I’m not getting drunk every other night (or at all).  Call this my mid-life crisis.  I am getting my life in order. This is something I need to do and you can accept it or get out of the way because this is how things are going to be.

I do not want drama in my life.  I do not want to bring my life down with the little petty things around me.  I do not want people around me that bring me down.  And I will not let ANYONE walk over me.

So, now that my rant is done, onto our poem of the day.

This is dedicated to my boyfriend.  He was a fantastic friend, that has become more, through a very trying time and he’s stayed by me through it all.  I thank him for being there for being my strength.  These words are but that.  Words.  There are none that can describe how deeply I feel.  How you have touched my life in a way I never expected.  Without you, what I have done would not be possible.  Thank you.

A Heart’s Vow

Without you, I would not be this far
It is you that is my shining star
Always there and ever true
You are what has helped me through

I would have failed without your strength
You held me while I cried at length
You deal with my moods, as they switch
And try to pull me from my ditch

From beginning to now, you have seen it all
And yet, there you are, standing tall
Still by my side, still hanging on
It’s always darkest before the dawn

I make this vow, from me to you
You and I are stuck like glue
You have proven, you’re not like the rest
And every day, I’ll do my best

Written by © Rebekah “Khalei Vi” Bryson June 15, 2013

About Rebekah "Khalei Vi" Bryson

Just a woman, living life as she needs to.
This entry was posted in Life, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment